The First Steps of My Developer Journey

Hello World. My name is Shawn Owens and I am an aspiring developer.

I'm currently 28 at the time of this writing and live in the North Eastern United States. I've been down the coding path on and off for a few years, always getting caught up in tutorial hell and switching languages because of what someone on YouTube said was "in". I love computers and technology, no matter what I seem to be drawn to this path. Coding is hard, especially if you are trying to teach it to yourself with no real road map. It's so easy to get distracted, confused, and unmotivated.

That's what made me want to start this blog. A place to channel all my thoughts to the page. To document my processes, my learnings, and my failures. This is really meant for me. To look back on to, to see how far I've come. But there is a second purpose... maybe, just maybe, someone like me will find this. Someone who wants to get into code, but is lost in the whirlwind of tutorials and opinions. Hopefully, through my journey, I can be of assistance to those that read.

My current goal as I write this is to become a full-stack developer. I love front-end technologies and especially design. I love aligning things on the page and messing with the feel and color. I get particular over the type and the page has to "feel" right. I am also very analytical and love getting under the hood. Front-end development for me is a perfect marriage of the two worlds. I get to be creative and design websites and apps, while "getting my hands dirty" with the code.

CodeCademy Pro is going to be my life over the next few months. The world is in a place where we are still feeling the effects of the pandemic, and everything is being pushed online. More now than ever, the world needs developers. The job market is pushing toward an online workforce. I want to be a part of it!

Stick around if you want to join me on my journey. Watch me grow, learn, fail and succeed as I become a developer. These are the first steps to bettering my life and those around me. Let's help bring change. Like a friend of mine says "find a way, or make one".

Peace ✌️